Empathically Yours

Standard

During today’s festivities for the birthday of our boss, my cousin (and coworker) announced that she was getting married.  Well, that’s not accurate.  I ended up telling the boss that she had plans of getting married and that sort of got the wheels in motion.

She (cousin) was on a budget so everyone got on board wanting to see this thing happen for real.  Even Big Boss agreed to marry them and sponsor the wedding reception. No problem with the marriage license.  Boss knew someone.  No problem with the wedding venue; it could be held right there at the office.  No problem with the hair and make up; other coworkers volunteered.  Flowers, cake, and wedding singer was covered.  A date was set.  Now, all she needed to do was tell her inchoate husband that all he had to do was “show up”.

It was to be kept secret from her mother who would just be invited on the day of the wedding lest her leech of a brother make a scene to disrupt the festivities.  Just a handful of folks would be invited — mostly coworkers, her two BFFs, and several others from her church. It would be small and private, and they’d live happily ever after with a child along the way.

Except that this was supposed to be my story.  According to my cards, that is.

And I’ve been thinking, what if I’m channeling other people’s destinies during my readings?  My so-called future never happens to me, but it does happen to other people.

My reader calls bullshit to that theory, especially since it is my name and spirit that’s called every time we do readings.

I don’t know.

Oh, btw, I wasn’t spared from the taunting either.  My boss just had to say that I was probably envious that it wasn’t me that was getting married.  My eyes are still rolling upwards every time I remember that dig.

About ButterKate

Mistress of MuMu and Maximus ; highly complex Gemini; semi-jaded romantic; purveyor of inane and profound conversation; incessant chocoholic; caffeine-free; mad driver on the road; pheromone questor; control freak; neurotic disguised with calm outer appearance; sufficiently amiable when placid, terrifying when provoked; occasional ditz; sporadic provider of life altering insights; retired poet; provider of mischief as the need arises; patron of destiny advisers; truth-teller (yes, the emperor has no clothes).

Leave a Reply

