Flowing with the Universe

Standard

The first few days of the new year has brought on a wonderful oddness.  It seems that I just think of something I desire or prefer, let it go, go on about my business, and then events conspire to bring it to fruition with an ever surprising smoothness of timing.

To illustrate a couple of incidents:

ME:  My best friend from the US had already told us time and again that she wouldn’t be coming home for our 25th year Homecoming.  I was disappointed, just like the rest of our friends, and although they were chiding me to pressure her, as BFF, I was in the peculiar position to “understand” where she was coming from.  So, I did.  I did not force her, pressure her, nor guilt-trip her about her decision.

THE UNIVERSE: Two days ago, she called me up out of the blue to tell me she got a reasonably priced flight and with encouragement coming from her husband, she’d be joining the festivities after all!

Now, this was a more than pleasant surprise because I had suffered in silence and loneliness throughout the holidays. SO much so that I declared I’d play hermit for a while to lick my wounds in private and I decided that my participation in the Homecoming, despite being part of the Executive Committee, would be relegated to “substantial compliance”. With this development, I am actually looking forward to it!

000LOTUSLoveGrows

ME:  I’d been juggling my finances ever since the holidays since most of my Christmas bonus had been eaten up by car repairs and all that. In fact, I had wanted several things:  a) to have enough to celebrate the birthdays of my dog and her nanny; b) to buy a cake for my dad on his birthday; c) to be able to give the “entrance fees” to the other Homecoming Activities.

THE UNIVERSE:   I was able to do everything I planned in my head.

RE: NANNY and DOGGY GIFTS – I followed my instincts to bring them to the park on Saturday instead of Sunday.  Perfect timing since there happened to be a Christmas bazaar in the park whose last day was Saturday.  So many inexpensive nice things there and I was able to give sneakers and a watch to the nanny AND buy for myself two watches that I had been meaning to buy for myself but “couldn’t find” last Christmas.

*****

ME:  There’s more to it than that.  I wanted to buy a whole batch of spaghetti for the celebrations of their birthdays AND wanted to get J. Co. Donuts (I’ve been going nuts for Avocado DiCaprio).  I decided to go pick it up instead of having it delivered to the house since I wanted to get donuts too and they didn’t deliver.  My only concern was parking in front of the restaurant was sketchy and I didn’t want to get stressed.

THE UNIVERSE:  When I called to have them prepare the order for pick up, they told me they moved to a new address on the same street.  So, ummm, okay.  When I got to the area, I headed for the donut shop first because that’s what I was familiar with and, guess what?  The new branch of the restaurant I was picking up my order at was IN THE SAME BUILDING as the donut shop! And parking was available right as I arrived.

*****

ME:  As I said, funds were running low and I was getting anxious since I couldn’t really avoid not going to homecoming related activities since I was part of the Execom.

THE UNIVERSE:  Two days ago, I chanced upon an FB post that said the cover charge of one of the events was going to be waived!

*****

ME:  Again, funds were running low –are you starting to get the pattern to this? — and I was really counting on getting the “allowance” we get at work which we get some time during the first week today, in time for my dad’s birthday tomorrow. I was on a strict budget and funds were meager already, not even enough to buy a decent cake.  However, when I followed up at the office, some signatory wasn’t able to sign and chances were I’d get it tomorrow or the next day.  That would still be too late since I’d need to “present my gifts” first thing in the morning.  But I let it go and just thought that whatever I had prepared would have to do. I had bought a gift for him already during my Christmas shopping (foresight!), and the cake was just an extra touch.

THE UNIVERSE:  We had a surprise visitor in the office today, an old family friend who was visiting from the US that my dad had a falling out with.  He also happened to be my godfather (which I also forgot until he reminded me of it).  We had a nice time catching up and just as he was about to leave, he goes, ‘Hey, I’m your godfather! I can’t just leave without giving you something.’  And he hands me $100.  Whoopee! I have something to buy dad’s cake AND tide me over.

*****

ME:   I had been looking for a booster seat for my disabled dog ever since I noticed that he couldn’t look out the car window because he couldn’t prop up his knees to support him while peering out.  I had been looking for booster seats for pets, but couldn’t find any available locally.  I then started looking into the kids section in the department store to see if there were any toddler couches/seats that would make do.  Nada.  They were too big and too pricey.  So I let it go.  I had already made an effort.

THE UNIVERSE:  I decided to watch a movie in the spur of the moment.  On the way to buying tickets, there was a pop-up store in the mall of stuffed toys.  I saw this big purple bunny that was a toddler’s couch.  It was PERFECT!  It was just high enough that my dog didn’t need to strain to peer out the window.  The big bunny head fit right in when the seatbelt was placed so that the seat wouldn’t move around.  The bunny — which I have now named Donnie Darko — was cute enough that it didn’t look like some trailer trash DIY project.  Best of all — it was within my limited price range! When I asked the salesperson if there were others more like it — other stuffed animal-types like a duck or a bear, he said that there was none and that was the only “toddler stuffed toy couch” left.  Like it was left for me! Of course, I got it then and there.

*****

ME:  On the actual day of my dog’s birthday, I wanted to have a treat for her.  Buy her a whole host of barbecued meat, or buy a customized cake from a pet bakery — just anything.  But again, funds were running low and, besides, my time of month came and I was cramping and just wanted to get home from the office to rest.  I was in no physical condition to go hunting for bargains at the mall, brave traffic and fight over parking.  So I decided that it was okay.  She would understand if we celebrate her birthday when funds were more available. And I just headed home.

THE UNIVERSE:  On the way home, I remembered that there was a cupcake shop nearby which also sold treats for dogs.  It was on a long street which had a strip of restaurants but I didn’t remember quite where.  I was just hoping it wasn’t too far off.  It took no more than a five minute detour to find it. (Very near the turn!) Not only that, but there were pupcakes available even though they usually required an advance order and it was within my budget! I was even able to buy home-baked treats for them because they weren’t exorbitantly priced as others the same kind were! My doggie was able to celebrate her birthday!

*****

ME:  I was fuming mad because despite having had no internet service for one whole billing period, my ISP had the gall to send me a bill charging me for it. Since my BP already skyrocketed talking to customer service who couldn’t do shit to address my concern, I decided to endorse it to a good friend who used to work there.  She did forward it to them and they came back giving me a rebate of only 1/10th of my original claim.  Duh!!! Instead of going ballistic on my friend to vent out, I calmed down and pleasantly explained again my predicament.  She told me to write her again, this time, not recounting the entire incident and just stating that I wanted a refund for the entire month.  I did.  But since everyone else who works there who wasn’t in top management was a roundabout robot, my expectations weren’t high.  So I let it go.  I pegged it as a “loss” already.

THE UNIVERSE:  Today, I get an email from them saying that all the charges for the entire month have been reversed! Since I had overdue charges but still paid for the unserviced month, I’m not in the red anymore with the rebate and all! Yay!

*****

There’s lots more little serendipitous things that have been happening to me.  I really think it has something to do with the cleansing ritual I did on New Year AND my Forth, Eorlingas! motto.

I’m very grateful for that the Universe has allowed me to thrive with all these gifts from out of the blue.  In fact, because I feel light inside, I’ve begun to sing to my doggies again — those stupid silly songs I make up and sing to them when I’m not bogged down by worries.

I do hope that the Universe continues to surprise me.  It’s a hope; not an expectation.  And when something wonderful comes my way, I can feel the change in my heart, like it’s singing a sweet, sweet song of joy, happiness and gratitude that only my unseen friends, ever present guides and angels can hear.

 

 

About ButterKate

Mistress of MuMu and Maximus ; highly complex Gemini; semi-jaded romantic; purveyor of inane and profound conversation; incessant chocoholic; caffeine-free; mad driver on the road; pheromone questor; control freak; neurotic disguised with calm outer appearance; sufficiently amiable when placid, terrifying when provoked; occasional ditz; sporadic provider of life altering insights; retired poet; provider of mischief as the need arises; patron of destiny advisers; truth-teller (yes, the emperor has no clothes).

Leave a Reply

